Usb Multiple Out Asio Soundcard

Hi all! I’m new to Renoise, and so far I love it. And the things I missed from ModPlug seem to have been added in 1.5. :yeah:

I’m looking to buy a decent used laptop, as I intend to gig with it, and a USB multiple outs ASIO soundcard. Sort of had my eye on the GIGAPort AG. 8 outputs would be nice indeed as I want to use a bunch of hardware effects and stuff.

Does anyone have any experience of this or similar USB ASIO devices? I haven’t managed to find a whole lot of reviews. Only the same sales pitch over and over.

Would 8-channel ASIO require more of the computer, or is that mostly dealt with within the soundcard? I’m thinking a used ~1Ghz, ~512Mb laptop would have a decent price and do the trick. I don’t want my computer to choke and render all those channels useless. I don’t plan to use loads of instruments and effects as I’ll be adding a lot of sounds/effects through hardware. Any thoughts? I’d greatly appreciate any input on this.

don’t know exactly but the gigaport seems to be USB 1.0 only … not the best choice for pro quality 8 channel output (too low banwith with usb 1.0) … look for usb 2.0 or firewire solutions.

for sample-playback only, without effects, 1 ghz should be enough but more is better … B)

I’m getting some unexpected money from Dell who finally caved in and accepted my demand for a refund. A Dell sales person actually lied to me about their handhelds connectability. But now I’m getting my money back. So I plan to use them on a better laptop. :D

Thanks for the input. That crossed my mind too, usb 1 isn’t very fast. I’ll ask if I can try it out. I’m not too fuzzy about “pro” quality, as long as it sounds ok. But I’ll keep an eye out for usb 2 and firewire devices.

Anyone got any suggestions? 6-outs might also be enough for me “but more is better”. And 2 in wouldn’t hurt. :rolleyes:

If 6 outs is ok on 16 bit-48 Khz che cheapest card is terratec 26 USB.
but all the soundcards )exept for edirol( are usb 1.