Using Midi-controlls To Perform Key Strokes (with Osx)

Hey guys,
i’m really new to reason but i found out that it is not possible to directly use a midi-controller button to mute a track and perform key strokes.

I’m new to the whole music thing, i only played around a little bit with rebirth in the old days.
I don’t have a midi controller right now, but i want to buy one next week.
Before i buy a midi-controller i want to be sure that this idea works.

It would be great if someone can test it.

I’ve found this app “midi pipe” to map midi-controlls to different things.
It currently doesn’t support keystroke emulation but it has an applescript possibility.
I made an applescript to perform keystrokes in Renoise. It works directly with the applescript-editor but i don’t know if the script works with midi-pipe.

Can someone conform that my idea works?

free software what you need:

Midi Pipe http://homepage.mac.com/nicowald/SubtleSoft/
a program called “Full Key Codes” to get the code for the key http://softwares.bajram.com/utilities/#Full_Key_Codes
applescript editor (comes with OSX

Step 1:
enable access for assistive devices.
Go to “System Preferences” and activate the “Universal Access” Pane.
Click the “Keyboard” tab. At the bottom of the pane is a checkbox setting called “Enable access for assistive devices”. Click on the checkbox so the setting is enabled. Close out of System Preferences.

Step 2:
Open “full key codes” and press the renoise key-combo you want to use, write down the dec-number in the bottom right corner.

Since Notepad0+Command doesn’t work with my mbp. i remapped the “mute track 0” to the key “a” (code: 0)
in Renoise: go to Configs-> Keyboard/Mouse and lookup/reassing the command you want to control with your midi device.

Step 3:
Open the applescript-editor (applications->applescript->scripteditor) and type in the following source:

You have to replace the whole with the number you wrote down in step 2.