Using Renoise as an Ableton-like DJing Platform?

Hi all,

I’ve recently migrated to renoise from ableton/reason after my mac was stolen. I had been producing for about 8 months prior and have since taken a small hiatus because of school and not having a lot of time to learn renoise. (as an aside, I’m running ubuntu on my new laptop, not windows 8 because… windows 8. it doesn’t have a CD drive so I can’t install/dual boot windows 7 until I find someone that has an external cd drive)

When I had my mac, I would produce most of my music on reason and would DJ using ableton. I actually DJ’d numerous times around at house parties on campus as well as a few fraternity/sorority formals. I really liked Ableton as a DJing platform because it allowed for a lot of creative freedom, you could essentially set up your DJing effects etc exactly how you wanted them to be.

When I first saw renoise, I couldn’t help but to think of it as an alternative to ableton. I’ve seen videos of people on youtube performing live with renoise, nothing extremely advanced, but it still worked. I’ve messed around a bit and have gotten it to work like ableton, to some extent, but I’m wondering if anyone here has any experience with this sort of thing, or an idea of how to set it up to behave in a similar way.

Namely, is it possible to have tracks launched on the fly? Also, is it possible to “sync” track the master tempo (i.e. warping tracks in ableton)?

I realize renoise isn’t ableton, and getting it to mimic ableton precisely would be impossible, but I do miss DJing quite a bit, even as just a hobby to do when I’m bored, and I think it would be awesome to DJ totally within linux with native software.

Haven’t tested this tool by myself but it might point You in to the right direction:
http://www.renoise.com/tools/live-dive

Currently, I think Renoise would be the odd choice for this kind of thing.