Very experimental tool - Native synth/oscillator effort

I was messing around with writing sample data live and came up with this tool. It uses the LFO meta device to write sample values into Instrument 1 on the fly. I’m no expert on synthesis but I think its a kind of oscillator, however it sounds awful (or experimental) and is full of digital artefacts, this is probably down to with the way I have implemented it (v0.2 sounds much better). I thought I would share it here anyway as I haven’t seen this done before, maybe someone better than me at coding can help me improve on it?

To make this work you will need some kind of midi loopback driver, I use the IAC driver on the Mac and am not sure what the best option for Windows is. You may also need a midi controller to do the mapping or use the attached .XRNS file where I have mapped the controls already.
Edit: v0.2 no longer needs a loopback driver

How to set it up and a quick demo are in the last video below.
A word of warning, this generates lots of high frequency pops, crackles noises etc.
Keep the volume low or don’t bother, I will not be held responsible for any damage to your ears or speakers!

Note: I found out most of the pops and crackles are down to the screen recording interfering with the tool, it doesn’t sound this bad if you use it without screen recording - v0.2 has hardly any glitches

Original version 0.1 using a loopback driver:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuYzphwzSGs

Some better sounds with version 0.1:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=euPZfUzhGg8

Version 0.2 - No longer needs a loopback driver, works with native LFO directly:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfQgC4ifNvY

Now things are starting to get interesting…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lAqXPICrxc

Hmmmm…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGMdShMmo9M

Nice effort, but a very questionable tool indeed. I’ll explain.