Volume level question

I’m new to making music with a DAW and I’m not sure how to handle volume levels. Pretty much everything has a volume level and I don’t know where to begin… This is what I’m doing right now:

I leave my computer volume at 100%

I’m leaving the Renoise master volume at it’s default level.

Each track has a different level but is set anywhere from -8 dB – 0 dB depending on what instruments I’d like to bring to the foreground

When I playback the song the loudest peak is around -36 dB and the average level is around -48 dB. Is that what I should be shooting for?

From what I understand, the idea is to keep all tracks at a very low volume so that they can be carefully raised during the mastering process. The goal will be to have “master track” volume hover close to 0 dB, but not exceed it. (because anything past that point will have clipping problems)

I can’t help but think I am way off here. Any help will be appreciated.

mixing in the virtual realm of the sequencer

the perfect mix

there’s nothing wrong with keeping your track levels as low are you are, from a quality perspective. The only real problem is that other sounds might end up being really loud (like other programs, samples, default instrument levels) relative to your project. And that can be scary :slight_smile:

I aim for my tracks to peak between -18 and -12 dB. The mix gets up to about -6 or so.

I would advise against “hovering close to 0 dB”. There are tens of thousands of posts on the internet arguing for and against this practice, so you can make up your own mind.

I’ve attached a few files that are also good reading that you can peruse as you explore this stuff. They’re taken from the thread why do your recording sound like ass?

There’s also the reason most ITB mixes don’t sound as good as analog mixes.

6447 Why do your recordings sound like ass 1.rtf

6448 Why do your recordings sound like ass 2.rtf

6449 Why do your recordings sound like ass 3.rtf