What Do You Like Best And What Can Be Improved In Renoise 2.5

Hi Forumites,

My name is Martin and I am a new user of Renoise from the Greater Toronto Area in Canada. I got my 2.5 beta - 3.5 license as a Christmas gift to myself. I make all kinds of music, but envisage using Renoise mostly for my electronic music project, Umbriel Rising.

Although I am new to Renoise, I am not new to making music and computer recording, having started out in the mid 80s with a Kawai K1 synth, a second hand DX11, a guitar, Boss DR550 drum machine and a Fostex 4 track, I studied Music Tech at University for 3 years and learnt how to set up micing, splice analogue tape, work 24 track 2" tape recorders and big ticket mixers (Neve and SSL) etc and then got into early Cubase on Atari ST. I worked in studios for 6 years in the 90s during the ADAT and early computer revolution days of mostly MIDI apps (but Paris and early Protools versions also) but the amount of hard work for peanuts eventually led me to a ‘proper’ job when the cool factor wore off ;) So now, I just do my own stuff and occasional mix/remix/mastering for friends and clients. I also play keyboard, guitars and bass still for fun but also enjoy combining this with samples etc (no ‘I must play it all by hand’ snobbery here :) )

I also own and love Cubase 5 and Ableton Live 7, which are more feature rich tools than Renoise, but I like the GUI and simplicity of setting up things using Renoise which surprised me. I have much to learn and still am making some noob mistakes and scratching my head quite a bit, but already I have done a couple of decent tracks with it (albeit rewired to Live) and look forward to doing so much more…The last time I had a tracker app was OctaMED on the Amiga - yikes !!

Can you guys with more Renoise experience share with me a couple of things you really love about the app, and also, maybe a couple of features you’d like to see enhanced or added in future releases. Merci beaucoup !