Why Use a Tracker?

Hi Guys,

First of all I have never used a tracker. I think I used one when I was younger. I’m an Abelton user. But, I’ve recently been led on a journey of some awesome chiptunes over the past few months, and have also learn’t a good number of artists I enjoy use Renoise - which now makes perfect sense because their music is very chiptune influenced.

This is the sort of music I really enjoy: http://instagram.com/p/egEhTqgzpW/ (although that’s only a clip)

Now, my question is why are trackers well suited to this over DAWs such as Abelton? Why would someone go with a tracker for this sort of music? I have a feeling the answer boils down to chiptunes. But I’m new to the genre and to trackers.

Is it down to personal preference or does Renoise contain features that make it ideal for chiptunes or chiptunes influenced music?

Thanks

Chiptune is often made with trackers partially due to historical reasons, chiptune was born from trackers. But in practical terms there are many reasons why you might want to use a tracker:

1. You want to perfectly emulate a particular chip. Lets say you want to make 100% accurate NES music, to the degree that you want to be able to generate a file that could be ripped to an NES cartridge. Specialized chip trackers can do that. One of the best ones for NES is Famitracker, and it’s pretty awesome. Even if all you care about is the sound of NES, using Famitracker has some advantages over something like the Chipsounds VST, namely the instrument editor is much easier to use. It also imposes authentic limitations you might not think about if using a sequencer, such as the inability to adjust the volume of the triangle wave channel (it is either on or off).

There are many dedicated chip trackers for various chips, and then there’s Deflemask that emulates multiple chips.