Workflow question - phrases

I’m pretty new to Renoise, but I’m loving returning to the tracker way of life after maybe 17 years since I last used OctaMED on the Amiga. Had a few hours play time and bought my licence, I really love it, so thanks for developing such awesome software.

I’m not sure if I should have put this in beginners questions, but I think it could be useful to anyone, so hope it’s OK here.

I’d like to know how and when you use phrases when you’re working with Renoise - what do you like about them, what creative possibilities do they open up for you?

I haven’t used them yet, and I have a few ideas about how they could work for me, but I’ve got a feeling I haven’t grasped all the possibilities.

I am very interested in people’s workflow, both in Renoise and in electronic music in general, so this may be the first of a series of workflow related questions.Thanks in advance for any and all thoughts.

They are mainly used for note triggered arpeggios and sequences, but the possibilities are almost limitless.

I’m wondering the same. Phrases seem to have so much potential, but I can’t quite figure out how to make them work for me. Most times I just end up making the pattern in the pattern editor and copying it. The one thing I’ve found myself using it for is making less predictable arpeggios, by putting scale filtering on.

I’d like to know how and when you use phrases when you’re working with Renoise - what do you like about them, what creative possibilities do they open up for you?

Pretty much everything you can do in the Renoise pattern editor can now be done in a phrase. There are of course a few differences - mostly, that DSP effects are be applied per-sample instead of per-track - with notes representing a keyzone or single sample - so stuff is overall more granular.

But phrases also make some cool stuff possible in themselves. Play forward or reverse, or apply various commands to the output - MaYbe command being one of the favorites.