Jump to content


Photo

New tool (3.0, 3.1): Noodletrap

phrase recording keyboard

  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#51 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 28 October 2015 - 20:18

'C:\Users\XXX\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V3.1.0\Scripts\Tools\com.renoise.Noodletrap.xrnx\main.lua' failed in one of its notifiers.
The notifier will be disabled to prevent further errors.

Please contact the author (danoise (bjorn@renoise.com)) for assistance...

std::runtime_error: 'internal error. failed to resolve a phrase mapping for a phrase.'
stack traceback:
  [C]: ?
  [C]: in function '__index'
  [string "do..."]:37: in function <[string "do..."]:35>
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:867: in function '_attach_to_phrase'
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:928: in function '_obtain_selected_phrase'
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:843: in function '_attach_to_instrument'
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:780: in function 'attach_to_song'
  .\classes/NTrapUI.lua:111: in function 'show'
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:369: in function 'show_dialog'
  main.lua:81: in function <main.lua:74>

How did you make it happen?

Edit: Ah, think I know...

Edited by danoise, 28 October 2015 - 20:36.

  • ASM590319 likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#52 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 28 October 2015 - 21:02

Put out a quick fix (v0.96)
http://www.renoise.c...ools/noodletrap

Sorry for the inconvenience  :)


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#53 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 29 October 2015 - 09:24

Great stuff, will try this out ASAP. No need to say sorry, you're doing this stuff for free :)   I thank you for your efforts!



#54 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 29 October 2015 - 16:03

No need to say sorry

 

Since I'm pushing updates to people who might have the tool updater running I think it's fair. 

I'm using you all as guinea pigs  :badteeth:

 

The current version has some issues in 3.1 that I still need to address. It's due to the way the new phrase mapping system works - you can now have unmapped phrases, which means that deleting a phrase via Noodletrap can cause an error somewhere down the line. 

 

So basically, if you are using Renoise 3.1 be cautious when deleting phrases while using the tool 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#55 ASM590319

ASM590319

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 01 November 2015 - 15:45

How did you make it happen?

Edit: Ah, think I know...

 

thx a lot, danoise, bug is fixed! :)



#56 mattnasty

mattnasty

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area California
  • Interests:surfing, culture, decisions, time-travel, djing, reading

Posted 19 December 2015 - 05:34

It would be excellent if the duplex step sequencer could print to phrases like this- that way each sequence and instrument was its own self contained instrument. It would also allow sequences of various lengths to run concurrently. Obviously the phrases would probably have to have a size limit


Edited by mattnasty, 19 December 2015 - 05:34.


#57 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 07 January 2016 - 22:07

Any chance this tool could not pop-up without being asked to? 

Seems to auto-envoke when Renoise launches. I get that might be by design but it would be nice not to have to close the tool GUI every time you fire Renoise up.


Edited by thalamus, 07 January 2016 - 22:18.


#58 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 07 January 2016 - 22:56

Any chance this tool could not pop-up without being asked to? 
Seems to auto-envoke when Renoise launches. I get that might be by design but it would be nice not to have to close the tool GUI every time you fire Renoise up.


Isn't there a setting for it in the tool?

#59 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 08 January 2016 - 11:10

Yes there totally is!

 

It's in 'settings'   :)

 

 

Thanks - I feel stoopid now.



#60 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 991 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 January 2016 - 13:00

Noodletrap doesnt see my midi input (Taktile-25). Why? :-)



#61 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 31 January 2016 - 12:31

Why?

 

You plugged it in after having started the tool?

Noodletrap does not scan for newly connected devices. Not yet, at least...


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#62 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 991 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 January 2016 - 17:08

No no! 
I have two theories: Windows 10 + noodletrap = doesnt see midi
or
Duplex and Renoise uses my midi device so much that noodletrap cant touch it :D


Edited by Akiz, 31 January 2016 - 17:08.


#63 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 991 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 March 2016 - 06:57

Ive maybe found another clue why noodletrap doesnt see my midi...

Renoise cant find my korg taktile if i connect it during session (i cant remember this problem with windows 7 and my old generic midi keys, so dont know if this is about OS or my midi.) There is something fishy


Edited by Akiz, 31 March 2016 - 06:57.


#64 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 31 March 2016 - 21:26

Renoise cant find my korg taktile if i connect it during session

 

Hm, so if we for a moment ignore the fact that Noodletrap doesn't yet support device hot-swapping, this feature is simply not working with Renoise + taktile on Win10? 

That's fishy indeed - although I can't really confirm this here & now, as I neither have that controller or is running that OS, the bottom line is that it _should_ work. 

 

But: if you do connect the taktile before running Renoise, it shows up in both Renoise and Noodletrap? 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#65 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 991 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 April 2016 - 17:44

It shows and works in Renoise

It shows and works in Duplex

 

It doesnt show in Noodletrap

But it showed once! Right after ive installed phrasemate. But i cant replicate it!

I have feeling that it doesnt work in xRules (but it see my midi controller) also, but dont take my word here. I just deactivated controller, enabled osc, selected controller in XRules and tried to play some midi notes. No sound, no signal from midi monitor in renoise...


Edited by Akiz, 01 April 2016 - 17:44.


#66 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 05 May 2016 - 10:50

A new release of Noodletrap (v0.97) is available:
http://www.renoise.c...ools/noodletrap

@Akiz and 30rhythms: thanks for the bug reports. There was indeed a condition in which MIDI ports would not be listed the first time the tool was run.
Think I squashed it with this new release + it also adds device hot-plugging on all platforms.

FIXED Missing MIDI input ports on startup 
FEATURE MIDI Device hot-plugging 

  • Andrey Marchenko likes this

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#67 Andrey Marchenko

Andrey Marchenko

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 May 2016 - 14:48

Still nothing for me. Now i can choose my midi-keyboard, yes, but record still only from regular computer keyboard. 

 

I hit Start and see "Waiting for first note to arrive". If i press keys on computer keyboard record is perfect but when i push midi keys nothing at all.



#68 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 08 May 2016 - 18:19

Still nothing for me.


Yup, I somehow missed a detail here. A workaround right now is to disable and re-enable the tool from the Renoise tool browser window.

But, will post a new version with a couple of new features soon enough. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#69 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 10 May 2016 - 13:22

OK, did a more thorough investigation yesterday and hopefully, fixed the MIDI input once and for all?  

Also addressed some small issues that have been there since the launch of Renoise 3.1

 

Download the new release from the tool page, and check out the updated docs

 

And, uhm, while I mention MIDI commands in the docs, this is being worked on but not yet done. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#70 Atominator

Atominator

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 July 2016 - 20:33

I have installed last release (first I uninstalled old one) and got this error when starting Renoise:

 

___Renoise\V3.1.0\Scripts\Tools\com.renoise.Noodletrap.xrnx\' failed to execute in one of its menu entry functions.

 
Please contact the author (danoise (bjorn@renoise.com)) for assistance...
 
.\classes/NTrap.lua:647: attempt to index global 'rns' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:647: in function 'attach_to_song'
  .\classes/NTrapUI.lua:123: in function 'show'
  .\classes/NTrap.lua:376: in function 'show_dialog'
  main.lua:64: in function <main.lua:62>


#71 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 29 July 2016 - 11:43

I have installed last release (first I uninstalled old one) and got this error when starting Renoise

Thanks for reporting!
It only happened on the very first startup after reinstalling Renoise?

Note that you were probably running an earlier (outdated) version of the tool, as the latest release requires Renoise 3.1
If you update Noodletrap and it keeps happening, I will take a second look.

Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#72 Atominator

Atominator

    New Member

  • Normal Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 August 2016 - 20:35

Thanks for reporting!
It only happened on the very first startup after reinstalling Renoise?

Note that you were probably running an earlier (outdated) version of the tool, as the latest release requires Renoise 3.1
If you update Noodletrap and it keeps happening, I will take a second look.

I meant last release of Noodletrap. I use Renoise 3.1.

 

I don't know what was wrong, but now it's OK. Little bit mystery.



#73 fladd

fladd

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 28 April 2017 - 00:56

I get the following error with the latest version in 3.1:

 

no static 'get_selected_phrase' in class 'xPhraseManager'
stack traceback:
  [C]: ?
  ./classes/NTrap.lua:1157: in function '_get_phrase_lpb'
  ./classes/NTrapUI.lua:1836: in function '_apply_phrase_lpb_from_option'
  ./classes/NTrapUI.lua:1148: in function 'update'
  ./classes/NTrap.lua:605: in function '_on_idle'
  main.lua:98: in function <main.lua:88>



#74 danoise

danoise

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:wildlife + urban trekking

Posted 28 April 2017 - 15:06

Thanks, will look into it. 


Tracking with Stuff. API wishlist | Soundcloud


#75 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2654 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests://Varying Interests//

Posted 07 January 2018 - 15:57

I wanna understand how this tool is used. Is there a video somewhere I could look at?


http://lackluster.org | on Bandcamp | on YouTube | on Facebook | on Spotify | on iTunes | on TiDAL | on Soundcloud | 

http://twitter.com/esaruoho | http://esaruoho.tumblr.com | GitHubesaruoho@gmail.com | 

| macOS 10.13 High Sierra | MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 / 16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR 3 |

| http://renoise.com/tools/paketti | BTC: 1BoZ9rvb8wT7dFNyVPwSX7DLj3stNo7844 | http://paypal.me/esaruoho |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;) http://forum.renoise.com/index.php/topic/26329-the-api-wishlist-thread/page-3#entry240266





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: phrase, recording, keyboard