64-Bit Cpu Has Nothing To Do With Audio Precision

(Conner_Bw) #1

References:
[1] http://www.steinberg.net/en/company/press/archive/steinberg_press_room_archiv_2006/steinberg_asio_22_standard.html

(Djeroek) #2

You could have just quoted Taktik, Conner :)

(X64 Windows & Renoise - New Renoise Feature Priorities )

(rhowaldt) #3

i wonder where this post is coming from, all of a sudden…

(kazakore) #4

Wonder if he will believe me yet…

(RANSOM) #5

Yesterday i showed this thread to some professional russian audio engineers (they all work on Protools hardware, Pyramix, Sadie and other exotic platforms), they confirmed this topic - cpu bit and os bit has nothing to do with audio precision.

(rhowaldt) #6

although i appreciate your helpful nature, i was being sarcastic :)

(TiLT) #7

As a professional programmer, I can chime in and add my own voice to the chorus of people saying that the host has nothing to do with dynamic depth. I code 32-bit applications all the time, and there are absolutely NO (practical) limits regarding my use of 64-bit variables or data streams. Bit_Arts’ confusion seems to come from not understanding that 64-bit data types can exist and be tossed around in a 32-bit OS, and that this has been possible for ages.

In other words, a 32-bit VST with 64-bit audio processing will both use 64-bit audio internally, in its communication with the host, and within the host itself (unless the host deliberately downscales the signal to a different bit rate, but that’s a different topic entirely). I guess it’s entirely possible that someone would be able to present to me an application that fails to qualify in that it somehow delivers a 32-bit signal to the host despite using 64-bit processing internally (on a 32-bit OS). That would be the result of a bug within the VST (or host application), or even a design decision. Whether or not the OS is 32- or 64-bit doesn’t even factor into the equation and would have no effect on the process.