Coming From Mpc And Working With Loops In Renoise

I have been toying around with the 2.5 version of Renoise, the demo for on and off for a week or so. I am liking it so far. Previous to this I have been using an MPC1000 and misc software like Cubase LE(very buggy) and Reaper. I work with a lot of loops especially drums. I am a guitarist by nature so thinking like a drummer is a little difficult at times for me. :)

What I want to do is mimic my workflow on the MPC and also implement some of the features of Renoise. And have a one stop operation. Can Renoise do this? Below is my current process.

For me a general song construction idea works like this. (this is very condensed)
1)assign a drum loop to a pad on the MPC.
2)set tempo and length.
3)record guitar track into MPC.
4)overdub and sweeten
5)bring takes and drums into software to mix

I am getting a nice laptop soon so I am preparing what I need, which may be Renoise.

Thanks!

Personally, I prefer dealing with loops with Ableton Live… that’s why I now make my loops/songs in Renoise and when I need to deal with loops for live performances, I render them and use them in Live.

However, for drums, I’d rather use Renoise than any other software any day.

Renoise is WAAAAY faster and lots of features needed for cool drum programming at right at your finger tip, Renoise is my drum machine on steroids!

To give you an idea of Renoise is for you, I’ll try to tell you how I’d do each of your 5 tasks: