How do you compose without a waveform?

Hi there. Very new to Renoise, although I feel extremely passionate about the DAW and feel like it’s a wonderful fit for me. However, I am just starting out and finding it somewhat difficult to compose without the traditional viewable waveform(s). I thought there might be waveform viewer options in the upper or lower frame but I don’t see anything particularly helpful there. So my question is, how do you compose in Renoise in the pattern editor without waveforms or other audio indicators in the field of view other than the pattern code itself? So far I picture myself having to relisten to my track over and over again without another means of editing it. How do you personally find it easiest to work this way with simply the pattern editor? Let me know. Thanks!

It isn’t the same as having static waveforms to look at, but having the scope view open (alt + O) while sequencing in the pattern editor might make you feel more at ease?

I actually prefer having less visual feedback to be honest because it forces me to listen with my ears and not with my eyes if that makes sense. That applies to VSTs as well like compressors etc so I try use FX without meters and suchlike.

1 Like

Track scopes are there if you want em :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi and welcome.

By using my ears. Why do you need a visual waveform for composing? What for?

Personally I compose with activated scopes (just to be able to see what channels are active, in case that I might forgot a note off somewhere or else or to locate unwanted silent noises), but for the mastering afterwards I use the spectrum (just to be able to see the different frequencies and its strength, so that I can make the necessary adjustments).

Really it comes down to the auditory cortex.
Ears are just one channel.
Some people see music and hear color.