How do you use the Pattern Matrix?

Hi, I’ve been using Reason instead of Buzz for around six months to a year now (I can’t remember when I stopped using Buzz). I only have one problem with the Pattern Matrix, which slows down my songwriting - the fact that the pattern numbers for each block in the Matrix are the same as the position they were made, in the Pattern Sequencer. So if I want to delete a pattern block within the Matrix, if I have created aliases of it, they are all also deleted. Please see this video which explains what I mean:

At 0:15 in the video I copy block ‘0’ into ‘1’, so that I can then delete block ‘0’ without losing a copy of it in block ‘1’, and can then make new aliases of ‘1’ into the slots below.

How do you guys (and gals) get around this problem? If I have, say, three aliases of the ‘0’ block, I want to be able to just delete the original ‘0’ block and then change it to something else, without deleting all the aliases. If I wanted to delete them, I’d delete them by hand, and would much prefer they stayed there (and updated their numbers to be ‘1’ for the first one, and the the second two would be aliases of ‘1’), than what happens in my example video.

I’m hoping that I’m being stupid and missing something obvious which you all do all the time, to get around this.

It’s the fact that the block numbers are tied (during creation) to the position number in the pattern sequencer, that causes this problem.
The other problem that then occurs is that if you make, say, six patterns, and then create a seventh one, which you decide should go in between patterns 2 and 3 in the matrix, you have
and it all looks a bit of a mess.

I had a play with the ‘Live Dive’ tool, and that (along with Grid Pie) makes me think it must be possible to implement a Buzz Sequence Editor tool - so those who like the Pattern Matrix can keep using it exactly as before, and those who want to use a Buzz Sequence Editor, can install the tool, and then we’d all be happy.