How Is Renoise Running On Osx?

As I use mainly XP for Renoise I have no experience in using it under OSX. If you have please tell me how it runs and feels. Even more if you switched from XP to OSX I would really want to hear from you. Do you miss some of your favourite VSTi’s? etc… Thanks!

Rick

I was running a W2K box before. Renoise runs pretty great on OS X. No complaints. Enough VST’s to keep me happy.

The things I do miss are applications like Analogic/AXS, Cool Edit, Hammer Head and a bunch of other things i used to use to make tracks. I’ve since learned to live without them with a few new mastering VST’s and the advances in Renoise.

…now that I think about it, maybe I can run Analogic/AXS in DOSBox. REVELATION!

i’m about to make the switch. i’m really excited about it. :dribble: :dribble:

I switched to OSX recently and started to use Renoise on my brand new iBook G4.
Performance is not that good, even when i tried it with an imac G5. Now if you can afford a G5 Powermac it may be usable. I switched back to PC. I still use the OSX version for light projects without VSTis.

The OS X version will be optimised in the future. Apparently the gui is suspected of being the bottleneck, and this is being looked into.

What are you talking about? I use both an iBook G4 and and iMac G5 and Renoise works fine. Yes, it “feels” snappier on my W2K box (with more MHZ than my iBook), but so does everything else. It doesn’t prevent you from doing any work. Run something like Garageband, Tracktor, or Live on your OS X… Renoise is a lot faster than those. Compared to other applications in the same category, Renoise is doing fine.

It would be nice if Renoise was optimized, but for a first release on a UNIX based OS for people like me, it’s a dream come true.