How to get PROPER swing in Renoise, with, for example piz midiswing?

Okay I love Renoise very much, but all means of ways to add swing is just terrible sounding :frowning:

In FL Studio and Reaper, when you add swnig, it sounds completely different.

Yes, I’ve tried all means mentioned on this forum that people rave about, but it doesn’t sound good at all to me. That is the delay column, the q effect, the d command etc, and of course, the most terrible sounding global groove.

Now, please don’t make this post about me needing new ears, they work just fine, and if you were to compare for example FL studio’s most excellent swing to that of Renoise you’d know what I’m talking about.

I have been trying to solve this problem, using something called piz midiswing plugin. But when I move the swing slider, nothing happens.

I read in this forum that you should route the plugin somehow, using a virtual midi cable. But I am a complete noob on that one, so please help me out!

And again, please, no mention on how swing is awesome in Renoise, because it is not.

Warm fuzzy feelings in advance to anyone who may help! :slight_smile:

yes it is awesome, PERIOD.

swing is specific rhythm, nothing more… so you are trying to say that you do not like the rhythms that you make? hmmmm… :rofl:

Yes it’s a real problem but the best way I think is to use the delay method with the tool (forgot the name). The global groove is close to useless because if you want to have a track without this groove, you can’t.

dspasic: I know you are just trolling, and you may argue that they are the same because of some technical reason, however, they are not. Just listen and you’ll hear the difference. I have no problems with my swingy beats in fl studio. In Renoise - not so much.

But, if anyone reads this, I think I found a “solution”: One installs Cubase and Revisit, and then piz midi swing after Revisit. Only “problem” is that it is not Renoise, which again, I love so very much =(