Midi Controller For Newbie

I’m a total noob ragarding music theory and piano. I would like something to start with. Later on i might go for a synthesizer. So far, I can’t make up my mind which of the 3 to buy. I was told that the oxygen has issues on renoise, not being recognized or stucking something and not responding. Anybody has tried Oxygen 49? this
or this
or this one?
I want it to be fully compatible with renoise, just saying. Is every midi controller compatible with renoise? Or if you have something else to suggest, please do. I was told it should have at least 4 octaves… That’s all I know. I can’t afford anything above 150 euro, in case you tell me to save up for something else. I am looking for something to experiment with, something that will grant me the ability to generate sounds through VSTis for now. Thanks a lot in advance.

Peter

I’m using one of the older grey Oxygen49 midi controllers, it’s always worked flawlessly in Renoise.

If you consider yourself as a n00b in music theory I don’t see any reason for you to get an AT LEAST 4 octave keyboard. Sooner or later you’ll sell it and get one with only two octaves. Takes less room, is more portable, cheaper and you still get everything done with it.

Do you have anything specific to suggest?

I’m using the Oxygen 49 3rd gen, that’s this one. It works perfectly! 4 octaves, velocity sensitive and some knobs and sliders, that’s everything you need to start off… :walkman:

Thanks!! You persuaded me to make a decision now :)
Ordering soon :D
One more question though. I see there are converter cables out there, either midi to usb or vise versa. So if I were to connect this keyboard using a usb midi converter to a synthesizer, would that work at all?

The oxygen49 and most other midi controllers already have a midi out port…no converter needed.

But it only has usb, sustain and power on/off on the back…

Yep, true, no midi out on this one… <_<