My Songs Sound So Quiet.

I’m embarrassed to ask this since I’ve been using Renoise for four years (and making music for longer), but I’m really struggling with the mixing process of my songs.

OK Here’s the deal. When I make my songs I try to maximize the volume as much as possible, but when I listen to them they’re much, much quieter than other songs.

If you go to my myspace page http://www.myspace.com/theDDtMM or download the mp3 from CTG music http://www.ctgmusic.com/song.php?id=15962 and compare them with other songs you’ll hear what I’m talking about. I felt like I did a good job giving my instruments different frequency spaces in the mix. I even slapped a compressor at the end of the song just so I could get some more volume (I was desperate).

So what the heck am I doing wrong? This problem has been plaguing me for years.

The one thing I notice is that my cymbol crashes cause big spikes. Maybe I should just lower them and that would fix everything?

Any advice would help. I can’t get my mind to wrap around this problem.

Loudness comes from mastering. But good mastering comes from a good mixdown, which requires good recordings and a good arrangement to be loud. So the whole process matters, but it’s the limiter at the end that does most of the work.

Don’t try to maximise the volume as much as possible when making your songs. Do try to make the volume loud (that is, make the mix sound relatively loud by using good EQ, levels etc.), but don’t mix with a limiter on the master bus. Don’t worry too much about making it loud until the mix is complete and you’re mastering the output. A mixdown is supposed to be relatively quiet because it’s not mastered.