New tools for working with frequencies directly

Hello, I’m fairly new to coding and have made a few tools personal use which I’m looking to share with the community.

I like working with frequencies, for example building instruments where each note is a specific frequency not necessary related to the other notes in a traditional way, just whatever feels good to me… or setting BPM and device parameters derived from a frequency value.

I’ve made a frequency calculator that can perform various calculations on hz values and automatically set a chosen parameter in Renoise, like the interval between two frequencies in cents and can update chosen sample transpose / finetune values accordingly, or multiplying a frequency by a ratio like ‘4:3’ or decimal. Other calculations include hz to BPM, hz to LPC (for LFO), hz to milliseconds.

It also features a separate notepad style gui for storing results or anything else you wish, supports opening and saving .txt files. :smiley:

For now I’d like to know if this tool would be useful to others and if there’s other utility they think it could provide? If so I can share the latest version in the forum for feedback before submitting the tool.

Later I will cover my instrument creator that builds instruments based on a list of frequencies, by generating single cycle waveforms of each frequency, setting appropriate looping and mapping options so it’s instantly playable across keyboard. User has many preferences including interval / harmonic option for layering frequencies, mapping to white keys only and inserting modulation sets. Additionally I have a separate scale creator to generate intervals from a base value which are easily transferred to the instrument creator.

Thank you!

3 Likes

These all sound quite promising! I’m interested :+1:

Thank you, your interest provided motivation!