Samples & Copyright

A lot of electronic music producers use samples from pop songs, movies, another electronic tracks, tv, etc. One can find such tracks even on commercial releases. Unfortunately, I didn’t find much about this topic on the Internet, but, seriously, I just cannot believe, that such producers (especially, underground artists from the breakcore, gabber, hardcore scenes) have a written permission from the originator of each used sample. It is so unbelievable, because I assume that it would take months/years to get all the authorizations and/or even agreements about possible profit for the originator etc, etc…

But, on the other hand, it is also unbelievable, that most of such songs are released illegally.

There are many producers on this board, can somebody explain me the way it works?

Many thanks in advance!

I’m not a producer but it looks more like your status determines whether you can pull such a trick off and use someone else’s samples for free.
In theory an amount samples created by anyone are simply copyrighted.
In practice nobody bothers to check out someone’s song if it uses copyrighted samples because they are harder to extract from the song if the sample totally blends in the environment.

And if they would in some case nothing more happens than some rage and fury in the media but no financial consequences are connected.

The more recent Timbaland scandal is a very good example (which was also a very hot topic on this board):
http://thelastboss.com/post.phtml?pk=1985

all music is a rip off - using samples is on a par with releasing a cover version
whether it is authorised or not is totally irrelevant.

i like to nick subs off dillinja, and dj producer steals hellfish beats - girl/boy bands re-release old 60’s hits and rock bands rob each others riffs

i think the general rule is - if you are using an obvious copyrighted sample / tune etc and are making money from it - then you will probably get moaned at.