Samples Vs. Instruments

I’ve been using Renoise on and off for a couple of years now, with “off” being the most common level of usage during that time. While I feel like I understand the basics, I’m still trying to figure out a workflow with Renoise, which has probably been my primarily reason for neglecting it all this time.

I had a quick question for those of you willing to entertain them… do you work primarily with Renoise Instruments or do you just load up samples? I find myself creating a lot of instruments, especially when using drum machine samples, and while setting up instruments isn’t very time consuming, it doesn’t really make a lot of sense if you’re using single samples, especially if you’re not manipulating them at all.

If any of you would like to elaborate on how you get “setup” to create music, I’d appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

Robb

I don’t tend to use Renoise for instruments that require different keygroups because the workflow for it is a bit clunky and I have better tools for that.

What I typically end up doing in Renoise is either
A: using the hotkeys to cut up an existing sample into an ad hoc instrument
B: using samples that were already cut up and drag-dropping them into an instrument
or
C: using one sample per instrument

I think the best way to learn the workflow would be to have a look at the “insides” of Renoise songs other people have created.
More than a hundred .xrns files can be downloaded from the sdcompo page.
This is how 90% of all trackers learned to track.

The only Renoise Instruments I have are drum kits I’ve cobbled together. I have no reason to use the format for anything else.

Same here.

I only use instruments. All made by myself.

9 out of 10 times i use single samples instead of instruments containing multiple samples. simply because i have more control that way. if i really need to ‘play’ something, i’ll build an instrument for it.