Serious System Requirements

Hello,

1. I would like to know the real hardware requirements for running renoise with full vst support (many effects and soft-synths combined with lots of midi-tracks, playing at once) without any (cpu, sound and timing) problems.
    The description in the help-file (800 Mhz works well…) does not help in that case.
    I have a PIII 700, 256 MB Ram, and e.g. the demo-song “On my mind” is not played correctly at all (There are very heavy sound-gaps every second).

I am new to the software-side composing, so I don’t know what hardware is needed; I am coming from midi-hardware setup and I would like to focus more on software and consequently would like to upgrade my system.

I think there are many advanced users out there, can you tell me your setup please, and what you can do with it?

1. When I tested out renoise with only 3 tracks at once, all using simple samples (bass, hihat, snare), I noticed that there are randomly short “click” and “clack” error-sounds. I guess this is because of my poor soundcard (Soundblaster live), but it is really annoying me because of 3 simple tracks only which is nothing, to get such error-sounds.
    Does it appear because of my soundcard or has it another reason? What soundcard can you recommend?

Thank you very much for help! :)

greets

you need something around 3ghz, a P4 3ghz will be fine, and quite a good deal of memory (512Mb or better 1Gb).

as for an example i made a music using FM7/Absynth2 Vsti, 16 vsti at the same time + some FX and it’s eating 75% of my 2.4ghz, i intend to upgrade it to somewhere around 3Ghz, because i know there is some effects that is eating a lot of cpu and i want to use them :).

using a 2.66ghz p4 northwood /w 512MB PC2700 and am longing for betters, since i’m way too often limited in creativity by hardware limits.