The Tracker Advantage

Hi, I’m new to Renoise and trackers as well. Though I’ve been using various DAWs for many years, they’ve all been piano roll/clip based (Logic, FL Studio, etc).

While I’m enthusiastic about learning the hexadecimal approach to programming tracks, I wanted to get the opinions of Renoise/tracker experts as to the advantages of this approach over the more modern graphical way.

The sample offset feature seems to be one of the best ways to manipulate drum loops (other than manually chopping them), but I’m failing to see this is more intuitive/expressive than a slicing plug-in?

I definitely enjoy entering values via the keyboard rather than clicking away on the mouse, but I’m having difficulty understanding the full potential of trackers (no doubt due to my lack of experience with them).

Any helpful hints or illustrations of the advantages of Renoise/trackers would be much appreciated.

Cheers!
JBB

Hi JBB.

First of all, let me start saying that the “graphical approach” is also possible in Renoise, at least for automating parameters, as you probably already noticed.

This said, you may want to use the “hex approach” whenever either need:

• a one-time setting of a value (like for example enabling/disabling sustain pedal on a VSTi instrument)
  • more precise yet fast control over the values you want to set (f.e. a very quick ramp of a value)

about your sample offset example, this command can also be used to reduce the attack of a sample to simulate accents (using small values for the command will start playing the sample slight after the beginning).

In general, trackers give you much more control over the samples in respect of mainstream sequencers. Moreover, Renoise in particular has developed a set of features which is fully comparable with other sequencers, while keeping the tracking paradigm.