Tutorial Breakcore .mod, .med, .rns, .it, .xm

Hello all,

I have been using renoise for about two years now and feel as though I am making decent progress with beat slicing, effect commands etc. What I feel that i am struggling with however is the little “tricks” you kind of figure out on your own that aren’t in the manual. An example might be setting the loop points of a sample to a frequency that coincides with eighth notes of the tempo of the song. This I figured out on my own, but the downfall to this is that when you play a note on a different pitch, the frequency is different and doesn’t cycle on the eighth note anymore. Solution being I suppose, to re sample each individual note and give them each their own loop points.

Another thing I struggle with is choosing sounds to use. As soon as I use a lead synth of some sort it turns into this long melody, probably because I studied classical music in school, but this is not what I’m going for. I know there is know rule of thumb, but I am trying to get a more breakcore, Venetian Snares, Doormouse type of element in my work. So…I know this is probably a long shot but I am asking any caring soul who might be willing to help to either post or e mail me .MED, .MOD, .RNS, .etc files that might be applicable here. The way I learned to really chop beats was by studying old jungle mods on aminet and I feel I could learn more if only I could find more tracks to study. I realize this is asking a lot, for most people probably fear being copied or what not but I promise this is for my own educational purpose only and if people would like to delete patterns so I don’t have complete songs that would be fine too. What I am looking for here is technique and application. If anyone is interested in where I’m at in my composition currently, I have a few tracks on my myspace page at:

The tracks Jungle7, Be excited, and Wet your pants are probably my best attempts at the Breakcore.

My e mail is fayevictus1@aol.com

Thanks Everyone,