What Are Your Goals With Music?

I’ve seen a lot of technical discussions on these forums (just joined yesterday) but very little discussion about the reasons you make music, or aspirations for the future.

This thread will be for discussion of the reasons you write music – what drives you to do it? do you do it for fun or do you have dreams of being a professional musician someday?

or maybe you already are a professional musician. i would love to hear any accounts from people who already make money from your music (even if it’s just a little bit) and what you’ve done to get where you are today

me personally, i have been making music since 1997… started with Impulse Tracker, finished about 20 or so songs between 98-2001 … went for a while without really tracking much (but I was practicing DJ’ing a lot at the time) from mid 2001-mid2003… then i really wanted to get back into making music again but realized Impulse was just getting too dated. i was looking around at some different software to figure out what i was going to use… a friend unfortunately told me about fruity loops and i wasted over a year using its not-so-useful interface… started a bunch of songs but only finished 1 during that time. a few weeks ago i decided to do a search for “tracker with vsti support” and came across the wonderful renoise and i’ve been hooked ever since. finished 1 song already and started 3 others. i’m impressed with some of the songs i’ve heard people post and upload here and excited about the possibilities. i would eventually like to release some music on a semi-major label… i don’t think my goals are to be a professional musician like a pop star or anything, but i would be very happy with having a record or a CD pressed and have like 100,000 people hear it … and if even just 1/4th those people liked it, i think i’d be happy :)