What'S Your Text Editor / Ide?

I use jEdit.

I’ve been using jEdit for many years; probably close to 10 now. It’s still actively developed. The last release was 4.4pre1, released in February 2011. I’m always looking for a way out but I keep coming back to jEdit & plugins because it meets all my needs.

I want to like Eclipse but it’s memory hungry and creates a bunch of unnecessary hidden files that I don’t want to manage. I also didn’t understand the project representation. I tried to remove a project from some view, and it deleted all my files which is not what I wanted. I’m sure I could learn given enough time. Instead, I went back to jEdit and a few plugins (Project Viewer, SuperAbrevs, CtagsInterface, …)

I want to like Netbeans but with the recent Oracle acquisition I have strong doubts about maintenance. I’m thinking Netscape 6 circa 2001, e.g. a disaster. I’m keeping my eye on it as version 7 was released a just a few days ago… Also, no Lua?

I want to like emacs and/or vi but there’s something to be said about being raised on MS-DOS Editor and the menu habbits that came with it. In fact, when it comes to Linux/BSD editors I use nano.

I want to like XCode but I don’t. It’s not cross platform.

What are you guys/girls using?

Honestly, I just use Notepad. Sometime WordPad if I actually need to write something pretty but mostly just notepad.

For everything that doesn’t involve a full-blown IDE, I use Notepad++

PSPad does it for me.
Notepad++ is second place, but frankly, i miss a lot off stuff in notepad++ that pspad provides for.

I have an allergic reaction to anything that requires JDK or even just JRE (for that single reason I have Android SDK installed on MSVPC)

For occasional web programming: WeBuilder
For occasional Windows stuff: Visual Studio 2010 Express (in MSVPC, because I tend to do empirical debugging)