Where Do I Find More Instruments?!

Hey so i’m very new to renoise. I’m loving it. Especially since I found all the tools. REally expands the functionality of the program. The one thing that is bumming me out though is that i’m not especially learned about samples yet and just want a deeper palette of .xnri sounds to play with. I love vintage synth sounds and chimes and generally lo-fi sounding things. Sounds that are like the sample tron. Anyone have any guidance for me on this one? Would be greatly apreciated:)

Well I’m not sure about Renoise instruments, but here are a bunch of single cycle waveforms. You just load them into an instrument slot… Make sure the “loop” function is turned on in the sample editor window and they will play just like renoise instruments. They are really convenient because of the small size and low cpu usage.

single cycle waveforms

The new 2.7 XRNI instruments are not yet widely spread, but the old one layer format are plenty around to be found on an online library here:
http://www.loopproject.com/

I estimate 2.7 instruments will be uploaded there as well sooner or later (i’ve seen an addition from may 5th this year, that could be the first).
If you have registered Renoise, you also have sample packages available on your Renoise backstage account.

Try to enable the . button in the disk browser then you can load any file as a new sample try a .jpg or something. At first it will probably not sound very good, but try to enable looping and cut the sample where there are interesting sounds. Then go to the instrument editor and make an envelope, assign an lfo to the pitch and whatever that comes to mind and you will end up with your very own unique instrument.
Remember you can tune it in the “instrument settings” at “sample properties”.

THAT is sooo cool and it works … I just listend to a JPG :) DARN I love Renoise

if you want some better results than JPG, check out this thread: https://forum.renoise.com/t/audio-from-exe-files/31483