Jump to content


Photo

New Tool: Auto Maximize Selected Device In Dsp Chain


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 July 2010 - 23:50

Now on tools page:

Tools Page


This is a script that will automatically maximize the current DSP in a chain an minimize the rest.

It is enabled via a right-click menu on the DSPs themselves.

 

As of v 1.03, there is also alternative menu option `Collapse When Mixer Device Chosen`. Devices will automatically maximise when selected, but other devices will not collapse until you choose the mixer device (first permanent device in the fx chain)

 

-------------------

For standard operation, in the following picture the compressor is selected and therefore maximized. If you then select the gate to the right of it, the compressor minimizes and the gate maximizes itself.

auto max.jpg

Feedback as ever appreciated and testing "expected from vV" tongue.gif





Spoiler


Edited by Ledger, 08 October 2018 - 18:51.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#2 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 30 July 2010 - 00:30

Smart stuff!

#3 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 00:35

Smart stuff!


There does seem to be a bug in here somewhere, which will give you a notice regarding `notifiers` I seem to get it on beatslaughters demo song but have not replicated it elsewhere. [fixed]

Hopefully I will do (or maybe hopefully not :)) but it would be great if you could let me know if you get the same somewhere.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#4 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 30 July 2010 - 00:43

Will hunt for it,

by the way, it isn't possible to tab through dsp devices when having focus in the Track Dsp area, right?

#5 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 00:53

Will hunt for it,

by the way, it isn't possible to tab through dsp devices when having focus in the Track Dsp area, right?


If you have a DSP focused (say when middle mouse clicking ) you can use the left and right arrows to select different ones, if I have understood you right?

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#6 Moonriders

Moonriders

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 01:31

That's intuitive man, nice work!

#7 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 01:43

updated to 0_65 think I managed to squish that notifier dialog bug that I mentioned..



That's intuitive man, nice work!


Must admit I can not take full credit for the idea just the writing, but thanks for the kind words. :)

http://www.renoise.c...dpost&p=206852

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#8 vV

vV

    God's or Borg's Chief and Ruler of All Species

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 30 July 2010 - 07:29

auto max.jpg

Feedback as ever appreciated and testing "expected from vV" :P


I guess i owe you that...
It works phenomenaly, i was suspecting you would do a simple rightclick implementation of a single mode, but you anticipated my thoughts on using notifiers instead!
That would have been my next challengerequest, but now you leave me without questions..
Well, no i'm sorry... i still have a challenge for you left....... Parallel to the DSP rack, also show / hide all parameter sliders in the mixer, add a context-menu entry for the mixer to allow separate execution of this extension -> do watch carefully though: Some folks probably have hidden and shown certain sliders for a personal reason, so these settings have to be memorized as well and recovered when the option gets untoggled again.

Hint:Abuse Beatslaughter's Show / hide sliders material.
Vv....


cpu Intel Core i7-4820K @3.70GHz
chipset Intel X79 chipset
mem 32 Gb 2400Mhz
os Win 7 64-bit SP1, DirectX 11
audio ESI ESP1010e - > Driver rev:2.0.6.0
video nVidia Geforce GTX780 - > Driver rev:335.23


Renoise Official Manual

#9 Beatslaughter

Beatslaughter

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2310 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:Music, Blu-ray, PC Games

Posted 30 July 2010 - 09:22

Nice little helper. Thanks.

#10 taktik

taktik

    Renoise Developer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:füße waschen

Posted 30 July 2010 - 09:34

Great work! Works beautifully.

One small thing: you should/could use the selected_device_observable,selected_track_observable instead of the selected_device_index_observable,selected_track_index_observable. When for example deleting a device, the index does not change, but the selected device does. Well, just a small detail.

Attached is a version which does so. Also tried to make a bit more clear what happens where with the notifiers. Maybe it gives you some inspiration ;)

#11 It-Alien

It-Alien

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Avellino, Italy
  • Interests:trackers, basketball, chess, tabletennis, programming, writing, drumming, burping

Posted 30 July 2010 - 10:20

very nice stuff!
my specs:
cpu:Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 (4x2.83Ghz, FSB 1333Mhz)
os:Win7 Home Premium 64bit - OSX 10.9.1 64bit
audio: M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 PCI


Unschemed, hypertechnical tracked music. Sounding different since 1993.

my latest song: Lavender Town Syndrome (11'33", Psychedelic Beast)


where to find more music by me: soundcloud , jamendo , last.fm , napodano.com , facebook

RTFM.gif

("Lavender Town Syndrome, 11'33" Psychedelic Beast)

#12 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 15:01

Thanks to everyone for testing and feedback!



...
Well, no i'm sorry... i still have a challenge for you left....... Parallel to the DSP rack, also show / hide all parameter sliders in the mixer, add a context-menu entry for the mixer to allow separate execution of this extension -> do watch carefully though: Some folks probably have hidden and shown certain sliders for a personal reason, so these settings have to be memorized as well and recovered when the option gets untoggled again.

Hint:Abuse Beatslaughter's Show / hide sliders material.


Sounds interesting! though it will have to wait for another day for now, I have a couple of other tools in mind first, though I may be requiring your beta testing again for this in the future..



Great work! Works beautifully.

One small thing: you should/could use the selected_device_observable,selected_track_observable instead of the selected_device_index_observable,selected_track_index_observable. When for example deleting a device, the index does not change, but the selected device does. Well, just a small detail.

Attached is a version which does so. Also tried to make a bit more clear what happens where with the notifiers. Maybe it gives you some inspiration ;)


Thanks, the file you have posted is certainly nice and clear , I will try and incorporate into the next release.

I also tried to use the selected notifiers when first starting the script but wasn`t catching the zeros ( I think? as I didn`t have the relevant conditional `if` in yet ) so when deleting a device I got a `script hang`. Should be a nice improvement to get them back in.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#13 s-n-s

s-n-s

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2029 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 July 2010 - 15:37

this is awesome,great work

Subbase - Danish Dark DnB


#14 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 August 2010 - 22:19

bump for version 1_0. Just a tidy up based on taktiks revision, with the changed notifiers etc.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#15 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 03 August 2010 - 12:12

This lill script is great by the way, just wished the minimized windows would also let you open up the vst gui somehow....something like 'right mouse click' on the maximize button, automatically opens the gui window.

Right now, you have to maximize the minimized window first, before being able to open up gui, that or go to the mixer tab and double click.

#16 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 August 2010 - 18:43

This lill script is great by the way, just wished the minimized windows would also let you open up the vst gui somehow....something like 'right mouse click' on the maximize button, automatically opens the gui window.

Right now, you have to maximize the minimized window first, before being able to open up gui, that or go to the mixer tab and double click.


I have tried using the shortcut for opening the VST editor after single-clicking the DSP. This works quite nicely in theory but the DSP lane needs to have focus (i.e. the DSP not just selected but border hilighted - this is yellow in my theme) and the shortcut currently will not toggle like the one for opening VST instruments. *

The first point could be improved if open VST editors was in the API, so the shortcut could be made global or possibly integrated into this script with notifiers?
* The second point I have just seen is fixed in the next beta :)

http://www.renoise.c...=1

As for your more direct suggestion of right clicking the max button to open editor: At the moment this would need to be directly coded into renoise but gets a +1 from me.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#17 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 August 2010 - 23:55

Added to the tools site.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#18 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2011 - 21:18

2.7 beta version in first post

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#19 Jalex

Jalex

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2011 - 12:31

thnx!

#20 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 May 2011 - 11:29

2.7 version Now on tools page:

http://tools.renoise...ze-selected-dsp

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#21 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 31 May 2011 - 13:39

2.7 version Now on tools page:

http://tools.renoise...ze-selected-dsp

THANK YOU! was waiting for this one!

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#22 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 May 2011 - 16:20

THANK YOU! was waiting for this one!


No probs, it was available in this thread before, but the tools page is obviosly better, particularly with Bantai`s autoupdater working so nicely now!.

Fortunately I have got a little more spare time to sort a couple of these things now.

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#23 rhowaldt

rhowaldt

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague, Netherlands

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:14

No probs, it was available in this thread before, but the tools page is obviosly better, particularly with Bantai`s autoupdater working so nicely now!.

ah, didn't notice that. i try to read every single post on the forums but sometimes i overlook something :)

specs: [cpu] AMD Turion64 X2 TL-56 1.80 Ghz [ram] 2Gb DDR2 [audio] Realtek HD [os] Win7 x86
gear: cheap-ass no-functions-whatsoever midi-keyboard, Zoom H4 recorder, MeeBlip
home: http://www.roaldblijleven.net (forever under construction)
renoise: http://roald.exul.nl...oise/cheatsheet
music: http://soundcloud.com/rhowaldt

#24 Ledger

Ledger

    Guruh Motha Fakka Knows More About Renoise Than Taktik

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3660 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 June 2011 - 10:26

ah, didn't notice that. i try to read every single post on the forums but sometimes i overlook something :)


gave that up a while ago myself since the forum expanded a couple of years back, since 2.7 it`s been no chance atall :)

--> Lua for newbies <--

My Scripts On Forum

Top Tip!

 

cpu : Xeon 1231 v3, os : Win 7 64bit, audio: Audient iD4
posts as 4tune @ KvR and some other music related sites


#25 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 11 December 2011 - 13:11

Ey Ledger, could you a similar tool for tracks or groups, so only the selected track or group is maximized and all the other tracks are collapsed?
  • eeter likes this