A Few Things I Found Annoying

I really like most of the new features, I really do, but there was a few things that was changed that is kinda restricting my workflow. I’m not a pro user or anything but it felt like I’d share my thoughts just the same :D

So here goes;

I find the new soloing and muting systems somewhat confusing and unpractical. Before I was somehow able (I didn’t even think of it - it was all in my fingers) to remove all solos or mutes at any channel in the mixer. Now I have to either click each solo track one by one or do it on the master channel. This seems slow and unpractical. Maybe I’m missing something, but I’m not having a field trip with this one.

Also,I think it’s less than ideal that you now have ALT click on the pattern arranger to set focus to it. Multiple times I’ve accidentally copied or deleted an effect from the mixer when I intended to move patterns around. There should be an option for this.

Other than that, I think 2.7 is ace. Of course the beat-slicing system can evolve even further, but I’m not gonna complain. On long samples this is going to prove most useful.

But yeah a few minor things. I can learn to live with it, but please take my post into consideration :)

Personally, I think both these changes are improvements. I see your point regarding soloing and muting, but to me the fact that muted tracks are remembered when soloing/un-soloing a track outweighs this disadvantage. A quick way to un-solo all tracks would be useful, though.

Regarding your second point, see this topic.

I don’t know… to me the mute remembering sounds like something that would make more sense in a DAW designing for multi track recording. What bugs me is that the setting the software describes as “the pre 2.7 behavior” doesn’t really seem to in fact be the old behavior. Options are great, but I don’t see the point in downright changing things like this. Old habits die hard. One thing is to add functionality, another is to change it.