Covering Songs

Hey guys!

So basically I’m really into people covering songs and turning them into 8-bit. I find it so cool that they can do that, and was just wondering (if anyone knew) how I would go about doing that?!

Would I need tabs and then just put them into Renoise? What can I do to get started on this?!

Here’s a link to show what I mean: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gOQ3O3UoQw

Thanks so much in advance guys,

• Michael :D!

well, a couple of months ago the famed Dead Dog Renoise Competition had a round with cover songs. they were cover songs of boybands and i see only 2 submissions, but i participated so i have some ‘experience’.

i played the youtube movie 10.000 times or more listening to the song and the chords and whatever. looked up guitar tabs (piano tabs are harder to find) online and put the notes into Renoise (check out this Renoise Guitar Reference for help with that). i also tried downloading a midi-version of the song and importing that into Renoise but had no luck in that particular situation. this might be work for you though.

after all the notes were in Renoise, it was time to make it alive. you have the bare bones, the skeleton, and now you’ve got to make it into a song. also, lots of sounds effects etc are not tabbed out because you wouldn’t play them on guitar, and of course you should think about what you want to do for lyrics if your original song has any.
this is where i do not have many tips as it depends on the song you are covering and it is the moment i think where you make the song your own. this includes determining the tempo in which you want it to be, the ‘groove’, the time, the accents, etc etc etc.

well i hope that helps you some, but i think the most important tip is: just try it. see what you come up with, and learn through your mistakes.

good luck!