Is Renoise Good For Creating Jazz Style Drums?

Hi there, Im a newbie.

I have yet to download Renoise and trackers interest me at the moment.

I like the fact that everything can be controlled with the keyboard. I find drum programming the most tedious when using a piano roll due to the fact that my mouse is not always the most accurate and I find myself banging my head against a wall trying to correct everything.

Trackers look like I can do everything faster which is important since I tend to lose interest if I listen to a loop too many times.

So is Renoise right for me?

Also does anyone have any examples of jazz type drumming made in Renoise?

1 Like

Hi jono-60, itā€™s always good to see jazz users approaching to Renoiseā€¦

I myself use Renoise to compose Jazz (also).

you can find my jazz songs here (ā€œstandardā€ jazz), here (fusion with rock) and here (latin jazz).

the drums are made controlling Native Instruments Kontakt or IK Multimedia Sampletank VST instruments via Renoise.

Wow your songs are awesome! Really impressed. If it is possible to do that in Renoise then I am pretty much sold.

But the reason Im going to trackers is as I said to get a faster workflow. Would you say programming drums is a lot better than a piano roll?

Do you have any example Renoise or MIDI files with just the drums?

Also, slightly off topicā€¦ how do you get the drums to sound so crisp? I know this is down to mixing and mastering and theres whole books on these things. But it sounds to up front in the mix and so alive, my drums always sounds dull.

thanks for your words about my songs!

first of all, answering to your question:

Iā€™m actually a long-time tracker user: Iā€™ve used trackers since 1994 on Commodore AMIGA.