Ripping song structures

Greetings, I’m new to renoise. In Logic, I like to open up a favorite mp3 and mark where important transitions happen. This let’s me ‘abstract’ the structure of the track and use this structure in a track that I creating. Is there a way to do this easily in renoise? Thanks

Yeah, it’s called “composing music” :D just kidding…

actually, this reminds me of many years ago… my music teacher in high school always said we should listen to any piece of music with a “macroscopic” ear, that is, to identify where these transitions happen between parts of a song.

In trackers (such as Renoise) songs are arranged in “patterns” which are played in a certain sequence - this sequence, often called the “order list” is a global “macroscopic” view of the song, if you will. Patterns can represent a single bar, 2 bars, 8 bars, half a bar, etc etc… or even a single note or single beat, depending how you arrange notes within them, their timing, and so on. You can easily repeat parts of a song by referencing the same pattern(s) more than once in the orderlist. As for Renoise, it has even further control over the global, overall process of composing a song.

Anyway, i’ll let you try it out by downloading the demo version and experimenting for yourself =)

Don’t know if there is a more convenient way in Renoise, but I once tried it along these lines:

Figure out the BPM of the song and set Renoise to that.

Load the mp3 in an instrument slot.
In Instrument Settings activate Autoseek.

In Song Settings set Default Pattern Length appropriately, depending on the song and your Lines/Beat.

In Sample Editor, set one of the rulers to beats (right click) to figure out how many beats your song lasts.
Roughly calculate the number of patterns from this.

Add this number of patterns in the Pattern Sequencer, maybe some more to make sure the complete sample will play.
Adjust the length of the first pattern if needed.(*)

In Sample Keyzones find out the Basenote.