[Videos] Tutorials For Learning Renoise

An introduction to the basics of Renoise, demonstrated by example songs.This is aimed at complete novices, therefore I’ve kept it concise so as not to overload people who’ve never experienced a tracker before.

6 Likes

Continuing from the ‘Getting Started’ video, you are shown how to load samples with the Disk Browser and create a simple beat in the Pattern Editor.

Nice. I’ve got so much out of your videos. Even when they cover basic things I learn little things that I’ve missed before so thanks!

1 Like

Yep, these videos are great. They are somehow free from assumptions about what knowledgethe person watching the video might possess, which makes me (a veteran tracker user)feel that I am actually watching Renoise for the first time.

Another great video indeed. It still makes me chuckle — and secretly die a little bit inside — every time Duncan has to say “zed key… or zee:slight_smile:

1 Like

We’ve already created a basic beat and now it’s time to enhance the various drum sounds by adding effects.

Download the song to use for this video: http://duncanhemingway.com/downloads/buildingabeat.xrns

1 Like

Automation allows us to change the parameters of an effect over time as the song is playing. Renoise offers two methods of doing this.

Download the song to use for this video: http://duncanhemingway.com/downloads/buildingabeat.xrns

1 Like

Songs are constructed by playing a sequence of patterns. In this video, we finish up the song by using the Pattern Sequencer to create a simple song structure.

Download the song to use for this video: http://duncanhemingway.com/downloads/automation.xrns

1 Like

In the Renoise Pattern Editor and the Phrase Editor of both Renoise and Redux, many values use the hexadecimal system. If you’re unfamiliar with this concept, it can be confusing to see letters amongst the numbers. This video will give you an understanding of exactly what’s going on.

1 Like