New Tool (3.3): value stepper

Hello everyone!

I’m new to Renoise and one thing I was missing is to be able to raise/lower values with keyboard inside the editor without having to input exact values. So I wrote a small tool to solve this and to get familiar with the API.

value stepper

value_stepper

Adjust values via keyboard by a set amount. Similar to the Transpose One Note Up inside Renoise but works for other values as well such as instrument number, volume, panning, delay and effect parameters.

Provides four key-bindings in Pattern Editor / Column Operations:

• Step value up
  • Step value down
  • Step value up (by 16)
  • Step value down (by 16)

The default step size is 1 but you can change it in Tools / value stepper

Note: the greater stepping on notes is done by octaves instead of 16.

settings

• step size (default is 1)
  • ignore edit mode (enabling this will make stepping work even if you aren’t in edit mode)
  • auto-blank (a panning value of 40 (centered) and a volume value of 80 (max volume) gets converted to an empty column (technically FF) to have a cleaner pattern)
  • relative mode (see below)
  • repeat last (starts relative stepping from last value as opposed to last + offset)

block selection

When selecting multiple columns and lines, you need to place your cursor inside the selection on the column you want to step. You can only block-step columns of the same type at once. (this extends to the type of commands inside FX columns as well, for example when you place your cursor on a -Sxx command only other -Sxx commands will get stepped inside your selection)

Inside the settings you can find different modes that control how block stepping is done.

• step non-empty values (all selected columns that have other than the default value will get stepped, this mode pairs well with disabling the auto-blank setting)
  • step values with notes (only steps empty columns if they have a note)