Question About Mixdown/Mastering

Hey guys,
I am still new to music production and I was wondering if there are any tricks you would be willing to share with me concerning mixdown and mastering

http://soundcloud.com/ryan_enzed_nzmusic101/mastering-before-and-after

Something like in this soundcloud clip

What do you think is applied to the synth, could anyone tell me how this technique is called so I can look it up?

Cheers

Multiband compression.

I’d like some tips too. ^_^

On the synths in this clip however i think there are automated/LFO’ed filters and some ducking or whatever people calls it. These things has nothing to do with mastering though, but that shouldn’t be the main focus.
I’m new to the concept of “ducking” myself, but i believe in this case it basically means lowering the volume of the synth every time a drum hits or something like that to get a “pumping” sound.
You can do this with the signal follower in Renoise, it will not do this by default settings so you will have to tweak some sliders to get this effect (you can start with Dest. Min 100% and Dest. Max 0%).
Just remember that the track you want to affect with the signal follower has to be to the right of the respective track.

To make a filter move could be as easy as attaching an LFO to a filter slider, but there are many other ways too.
Everyone has their way of doing things, so it’s hard to say how other people work by hearing a clip.
I don’t know if this will be helpful at all, i’m no expert and i’m still learning new stuff every day even though i have used Renoise for several years. :P

Okay thanks for the replies I will try and read about that and also try the thing with the signal follower

Nearly every situation and song is asking for a different approach of mastering.
Unfortunately there is no universal remedy you could squeeze into a few lines of text.

Good mastering is based on a combination of profound experience and basic knowledge about sonic and psychoacoustic relationships.