Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 6 votes

Play a selection of a sample in any note... instantly!

keyjazz samplepitch workflow

  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

Poll: Keyjazz on sample selection... (47 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you like my feature request... or...

  1. Voted Hell yeah, I want keyjazz on sampleselection too! (41 votes [83.67%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 83.67%

  2. Keyjazz? what's a keyjazz? I dont like jazz :/ (4 votes [8.16%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 8.16%

  3. I do not see the use of this feature... (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. 1 pitch is good enough for me. Also smacking enter is good enough. (2 votes [4.08%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.08%

  5. I like to put effort in the same result : crop/trim sample and undo, again&again (1 votes [2.04%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.04%

  6. its confusing me :( (1 votes [2.04%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.04%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#26 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 22 August 2014 - 08:48

miss this since day 1 of using renoise, not even for live, just for exploring the sample

 

edit: aka would totally pay for this!!


Edited by jarills, 22 August 2014 - 08:50.

  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#27 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 23 August 2014 - 22:51

miss this since day 1 of using renoise, not even for live, just for exploring the sample

 

edit: aka would totally pay for this!!

I would shove out 200 euro's or around 270 dollars for this to be developed any time. Maybe even higher :)

Exploring a sample is a core feature, something that should be very easy and straightforward in a sample based program...(yeah ok not totally sample based xD, there are VSTi's etc).


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#28 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 30 August 2014 - 21:21

bump because i totally needed this the last few days...!!!


  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#29 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 30 August 2014 - 21:57

bump because i totally needed this the last few days...!!!

Just before I start Renoise again, let's check the forum; ahhhh support :)
TY for bumping up this topic.

 

ilski, the day that this feature is implemented, let's have a virtual party ^.^


  • piranhatron2000 and ilski like this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#30 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 08 September 2014 - 23:02

<sigh> here I am again, struggling with a large sample, playing on different pitches I test the awesome harmonics inside... only to fight the nasty cut&paste jungle and loading / undo waiting times that makes no sense.

I JUST WANT TO PLAY A PIECE OF A SAMPLE IN A DIFFERENT PITCH, it's rocketscience.... rocketscience  :unsure:


  • crazya02, piranhatron2000 and ilski like this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#31 speeeh

speeeh

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 09 September 2014 - 21:17

<sigh> here I am again, struggling with a large sample, playing on different pitches I test the awesome harmonics inside... only to fight the nasty cut&paste jungle and loading / undo waiting times that makes no sense.

I JUST WANT TO PLAY A PIECE OF A SAMPLE IN A DIFFERENT PITCH, it's rocketscience.... rocketscience  :unsure:

ahah welcome to my everyday struggle :(


  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#32 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 10 September 2014 - 21:00

ahah welcome to my everyday struggle :(

I've tried to code something in LUA, but i'm not up to the task yet. One day, I might be able to hack it in myself, saving at least 250 euro's I promised to the one that actually fixes it.
It's thát much of a struggle, so I hear ya. ;)

 

Thank you for a reply in a topic, about a feature that I want since the day I registered here... :yeah:


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#33 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 02 October 2014 - 21:36

oh noes, people dont like "jazz" (well I dont like the musicstyle either, but HEY :D KEY-jazz ;-) )


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#34 thalamus

thalamus

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge, UK
  • Interests:Sound

Posted 03 October 2014 - 13:59

Hi

I see this topic pop up every so often. I wonder if just loading a sampler VSTi, dragging your sample into it and altering the start point of the playback would do what you want?

Edited by thalamus, 03 October 2014 - 13:59.


#35 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 05 October 2014 - 20:28

Hi

I see this topic pop up every so often. I wonder if just loading a sampler VSTi, dragging your sample into it and altering the start point of the playback would do what you want?

Well, I can do this even natively with Renoise, but its the number of steps, the effort to achieve the same result.

It almost feels unnatural that when you select a part of a sample, you do not hear that part - but the whole sample (when jamming in notes).

 

The devs should look into this crucial workflow step.

 

If I used a sampler, I could not save my audiofiles as native xRNi anymore and I always have to load this sampler first.

Nevertheless, it may be a good workaround - so I'm gonne spend some time looking for this workaround.


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#36 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 16 October 2014 - 16:43

i agree with terrabyte on this one a lot. we need keyjazz :D seriously, i would make use of every time. that and loop point automation.


  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#37 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 16 October 2014 - 20:09

i agree with terrabyte on this one a lot. we need keyjazz :D seriously, i would make use of every time. that and loop point automation.

oh boy oh boy :D
MOARRRRR fans of workflow, moar people that want to rediscover the samples that just wait for you on the harddisk...

 

image, again; select a piece of sample and just play... smile (: that small selection just sounds like something fresh.

Oh wait, lets play it in another pitch... hell loop it :D

We love the workflow.

 

thanks for bumping.
Hmm at least two people that want to pay for that... dev's could get rich on a small codechange...  :badteeth:


  • piranhatron2000 likes this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#38 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 20 October 2014 - 21:15

let's recap again: you go to the sample editor, select a piece of the wave and play notes on your keyboard (either midi or the real pc keyboard).

you would naturally expect that the selection is gonna play in the played note... but its not.

What is even worse, is that if you smack enter, you hear the selected piece, but not in the desired speed / note...

 

It would make my day / month / year if this is fixed by the devs.


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#39 crazya02

crazya02

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Game dev, Game playing, Music dev, Music playing

Posted 22 October 2014 - 01:49

20 votes! At this point someone should contact a dev about this possibly maybe. They don't like being specific about what's upcoming in the next version, but it couldn't hurt to contact them.


Edited by crazyal02, 22 October 2014 - 01:50.

  • DJ TerraByte likes this
sig.gif<p>Processor: AMD A10-7850K Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G 3.70 GHz RAM: 16.0 GB OS: Windows 10

#40 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 10 November 2014 - 20:32

ohhhhhh I know what I want for Christmas Sinterklaas!
:badteeth:  PLAY THE ACTUAL SELECTION OF A SAMPLE, NOT THE WHOLE THING  :clownstep:


  • piranhatron2000 likes this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#41 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 25 November 2014 - 22:31

So I kindly sent my wish to the developers and got an honest answer, thank you Renoise team :)
(Basically liking the idea, but have to implement it in a way that lots of people stay happy).

 

I just found out by accident that when pressing the middle mouse button on a selection, it plays thát selection.

But then again, it does not correspond with the keyboard, but it is a hint to what I want.

 

I think, I will write macro's in AutoIT to quickly do a trim and undo, although that is not the nicest solution.

Maybe I will map the middle mouse for trim, and press again = undo.


  • ilski likes this
Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#42 speeeh

speeeh

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

Posted 26 January 2015 - 09:43

I'd like this to function by just clicking on the part of the sample from where you want to keyjazz, shouldn't be necessary to select a part of it. But then again by selecting a part of a sample, the keyjazzing could stop when the selected part ends even if there's more of the sample coming after it.

 

Oh yeah, didn't see your post. It definitely needs to be done this way :)



#43 OopsIFly

OopsIFly

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 950 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:...daydreams... -VS- ...propaganda...

Posted 28 January 2015 - 17:49

Oh yeah, exploring waveforms. There's so many details that this could be implemented with. I.e. make the sample snip play dry/vanilla through the master, through the current or a selected track, through the current instrument with fx and mod chains, bypassing instrument selection, whatever

 

How about a mode for on/off behaviour of this tool, and maybe some mode that'll autoloop the selection in a desired manner. Now is it just for testing and exploring a sample, or for the next step of automating/recording the part of the sample that will be played or looped, for then it'll really add some style to the stuff you can do with it, not just jazz on but real chop and mangle a sample.


  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#44 ilski

ilski

    Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin, Germany

Posted 12 February 2015 - 13:29

still waiting for the keyjazz! <3


  • DJ TerraByte and piranhatron2000 like this

#45 Chris Edberg

Chris Edberg

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 23 February 2015 - 00:06

I've already voted "Hell yeah" long time ago, I really want this as well.

But while at it, I could add that I miss something similar: Being able to play the sample in question in any key by first selecting the key in question and then pushing the play button (from the beginning or the current selection), instead of being restricted to the keyboard. Useful for long samples and whole songs. This feature was also inexplicably removed (your suggestion as well if I recall correctly.) The topic about my suggestion: http://forum.renoise...in-another-key/


Edited by Chris Edberg, 23 February 2015 - 00:07.

  • DJ TerraByte and speeeh like this

#46 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 01 March 2015 - 22:36

oh boy could I need the sample-exploring goodness right now. As I am rewriting a lot of Impulse Tracker songs that are pretty much samples everywhere.

However I respect the fact that this feature may be even years away from now, maybe not ever developed.

Lets not think about that, and take another sip of this great wine I have here (but port is better xD).


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!

#47 Veggies

Veggies

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 10 March 2015 - 05:14

I want to drop in here to add my voice to the cacophony. Exploring long samples and finding cool vibes to make an instrument from is one of my favorite things to do in Renoise, so I would love to make this process both easier and more fun in the way OP describes.


  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#48 tha_man

tha_man

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts

Posted 12 March 2015 - 21:31

I've been missing this feature since I switched from Reason to Renoise (at version 1.27... wow, that was a long time ago). So a BIG +1 on this, it would really make the process of chopping samples and improvising with them much easier and fun. Reason had sample start knob in the sampler, which I could turn and play sample from that position with my keyboard, making a process of finding nice parts of sample to slice very creative.


  • DJ TerraByte and speeeh like this

#49 Akiz

Akiz

    Guruh Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 970 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 May 2015 - 01:34

Mangle vst has it, it is called trigger mode. I hope for this function.


  • DJ TerraByte likes this

#50 DJ TerraByte

DJ TerraByte

    Local Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands (Limburg, near Germany)
  • Interests:Gaming, hardstyle mixing, photography, nerdism :)

Posted 15 May 2015 - 20:43

Thanks Akiz, I almost ordered the synth, but for 20 pounds I still want a demo vst. and its a vst, not native in Renoise :/ but if a vst proves to be quick and fluid, yes im in :)
i think granular synth is awesome, but it is overkill for the one silly simple feature im after xD


Not only hear the sound, you must see it!