Jump to content


Photo

New Tool (2.7 & 2.8): Slices To Pattern


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#1 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 14 March 2011 - 19:29

Here is a very quick little tool that inserts slices into the pattern along with the accompanying note delays to maintain the original groove/timing. Seems like quite a few people have been asking how to do this, so here it is.

Slices To Pattern v1.02: (Renoise 2.8) (Also works in 3.0 — just let Renoise auto-upgrade the tool)
Attached File  org.illformed.SlicesToPattern_Rns280_V1.02.xrnx   1.99KB   1352 downloads

Slices To Pattern v1.01: (Renoise 2.7)
Attached File  org.illformed.SlicesToPattern.xrnx   2.25KB   833 downloads

The tool has no GUI or options to mess with. You simply trigger it via the pattern editor context menu, or via keyboard shortcut.
  • Pattern Editor > Pattern > Slices To Pattern
Usage:
  • Select a sliced instrument. Make sure that the first sample in the sliced instrument has its Sync value set to the correct number of pattern lines. The position of the slices and delay calculations will be based on this setting.
  • Select the track you want to insert the slices into. Any note data in the track that is within range of the tool will be erased first. For example, if your loop is 32 lines long and you run the tool on line 8, then lines 8 to 40 will be erased. The tool will also expand the number of note columns if necessary, in order to squeeze in more slices per line.
  • Run the tool via context menu or keyboard shortcut.
  • Enjoy!
renoise-slices-to-pattern.PNG

renoise-slices-to-pattern-results.png
  • jiku, Conner_Bw, Djeroek and 16 others like this

#2 slippycurb

slippycurb

    Big Masta Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland Co Galway
  • Interests:My interests change from day to day, but i always like eggs.

Posted 14 March 2011 - 19:35

nice!!Cheers!!
"No one would have believed, in the last years of the nineteenth century, that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's and yet as mortal as his own;"


SuckOnThisElectronicEgg


https://www.facebook...ristiansvslions

#3 CLAPZ

CLAPZ

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 196 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 19:46

Sick !
hiphop 4 life

#4 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:14

Sick !


!!!

#5 00.1

00.1

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1343 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:19


Windows 10
Toshiba Satellite L875D
AMD A8-4500M APU with Radon™ HD Graphics 1.90 Ghz
6.00 GB RAM
64bit Operating System, x64-based processor


#6 Guest_Jenoki_*

Guest_Jenoki_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:24

Hot damn!

#7 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:28

I can't get it to work though, dunno why..notes are placed but it doesn't sound like the original at all (apache break from the Renoise dir). Is it working correctly with everyone else?

#8 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:30

I can't get it to work though, dunno why..notes are placed but it doesn't sound like the original at all (apache break from the Renoise dir). Is it working correctly with everyone else?

Ah, well spotted! It's because this instrument has the slices mapped to the white keys only. I did not take this into consideration. I'll try to get this fixed soon :)

In the meantime, if you regenerate the drumkit using both white and black keys then it should work correctly with my tool.

#9 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:37

Ah, well spotted! It's because this instrument has the slices mapped to the white keys only. I did not take this into consideration. I'll try to get this fixed soon :)

In the meantime, if you regenerate the drumkit using both white and black keys then it should work correctly with my tool.


yeah, I though this was the problem first as well, but I actually loaded the sample from within the instrumet, so without any prior mapping. No, I think the problem is the octave setting, the script puts the note events at octave 4 (with the amen from the Renoise dir for example), while there is only sound when I transpose the notes down an octave to 3.

#10 dblue

dblue

    Dodgy Geezer

  • Admins
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Interests:Code. Music. Graphics.

Posted 14 March 2011 - 20:49

I was reading the base note values when I should have been reading the sample mappings. Should be fixed now. Give v1.01 a try (above).

Either way this is a pretty quick hack job, so I wouldn't be surprised to see some other issues crop up :)

#11 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 14 March 2011 - 21:01

Thnx, works!

#12 kazakore

kazakore

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2011 - 21:50

Good work. Kudos given :)

#13 Thomas

Thomas

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts

Posted 14 March 2011 - 22:08

Thanks!

#14 flight

flight

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 March 2011 - 22:53

just brilliant \m/


#15 Bungle

Bungle

    Big GrandDaddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 475 posts
  • Location:Over there by the thingeemebob

Posted 14 March 2011 - 23:08

Thanks for the hack dblue but a more long term feature needs to be designed i would say
Some way to store patterns and pattern variations is obviously needed (Something i have asked for a long time ago and even did a little hack job myself to get it going)

This is a cool stop gap, but the feature definitely deserves a thorough think through.

It is useful to have libraries of patterns and sliced instruments that you can then swap and change as you like.

Edited by Bungle, 14 March 2011 - 23:09.

Meh

#16 Conner_Bw

Conner_Bw

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Posted 15 March 2011 - 00:11

Fun is fun.
  • dblue likes this

cpu Lenovo X220, Intel i7-2640M @ 2.80GHz ×4 os Windows 10 / Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
My Homepage » : My Renoise Tools » : Normalize Your Sig » : One million clicks! »


#17 lowkey

lowkey

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Posted 15 March 2011 - 01:22

Thank you :D

This really helps with learning how trackers work. This would have saved alot of head scratching if this was in from day one.

Again, thank you very much for this.

PS Having a loop pool would be cool for storeing loop variations.

Edited by lowkey, 15 March 2011 - 01:23.

cpu Asus G75v, Intel i7-3610QM

#18 Djeroek

Djeroek

    Probably More God or Borg Than Human Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Borneo

Posted 15 March 2011 - 01:49

ey Dblue,

for a future update please consider adding an option to add note-offs whenever an event is automatically placed into an extra column. This to prevent a stray event from continuously looping (have the note-off at the same place a next event starts in the 'main' column?).

Edited by Jonas, 15 March 2011 - 01:55.

  • dblue likes this

#19 MLoN

MLoN

    Big Daddy Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts

Posted 15 March 2011 - 16:47

haha i thought 'SICK' when i read it ..

> see next replies :)...


minds alike!


mlon

#20 ripley

ripley

    Super Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 16 March 2011 - 00:49

this is such a wonderful script!!! thank you!! :)

#21 kRAkEn/gORe

kRAkEn/gORe

    Renoise Developer

  • Renoise Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 805 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:minefield

Posted 17 March 2011 - 11:59

Great job dblue. This is something i've had in mind since i saw the first slicer implementation... Wonderful !
Posted Image

#22 Tom de Rooy

Tom de Rooy

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2429 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 March 2011 - 12:21

I love this tool!! Many thanks.

#23 esaruoho

esaruoho

    Guruh Motha Fakka is Levitating and Knows Everything About Renoise Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2521 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kontula, Helsinki, Finland
  • Interests:// Free Energy // Cymatics // Sound visualization // Sustainable energy production // Apple devices // Tesla Motors //

Posted 19 March 2011 - 14:47

Thank you for creating this. Here's to hoping this'll eventually be a native Renoise feature.

| lackluster Website | lackluster on bandcamp | lackluster on facebooklackluster on soundcloud | esaruoho on twitter |

esaruoho@gmail.comesaruoho on reddit | esaruoho on ello | 

| OS X 10.11 El Capitan | Mac Book Pro 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo / 8GB 1067 MHz DDR3 |

| Latent Impulse Tracker/Scream Tracker 3/Schism Tracker <-> Renoise fanatic |

More API functions, please! ;)

#24 endonyx

endonyx

    Chief Above Chief Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eindhoven - NL
  • Interests:all forms of original / hi-energy / agressive music!

Posted 27 March 2011 - 22:49

really really really nice

this should be build into renoise native with pool posibilities and slice replacement possibilities... maybe even mis-use it to make groove templates from it and save that shit ;) :dribble:
  • esaruoho likes this

#25 HEXnibble

HEXnibble

    Advanced Member

  • Normal Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 27 March 2011 - 23:36

this should be build into renoise native with pool posibilities and slice replacement possibilities... maybe even mis-use it to make groove templates from it and save that shit ;) :dribble:

Yeah, would love to see this become a built-in feature. And how about a randomize button to swap slices and perhaps a way to lock specific notes (or available lines of the pattern) that won't get affected when randomize is used.

Edited by HEXnibble, 27 March 2011 - 23:40.